SPIRIT AWARDS 2011: ‘Black Swan’ is queen

Natalie Portman was named Best Actress at the Film Independent Spirit Awards for her role in 'Black Swan'. (Rick Wilking/Reuters)

The ballet horror-thriller Black Swan dominated at Saturday’s Film Independent Spirit Awards, the annual Oscar precursor honoring the best in indie film. Black Swan was the winner of four awards: the top accolade for Best Feature, Darren Aronofsky for Best Director, Natalie Portman for Best Female Lead, and Matthew Labatique for Best Cinematography.

The suspenseful rural drama Winter’s Bone won honors in Supporting Male and Female categories, for John Hawkes and Dale Dickey.

James Franco, who will be co-hosting tonight’s Academy Awards with Anne Hathaway, was named Best Leading Male for 127 Hours.

Other Oscar nominees who were named winners at the Spirit Awards included Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg for Best Screenplay for The Kids Are All Right, The King’s Speech (UK) for Best Foreign Film, and Exit Through the Gift Shop for Best Documentary.

For a full list of winners, visit the Film Independent Spirit Awards online.

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s