Director’s Guild nominees

The nominees for the 63rd annual Director’s Guild of America Awards were announced today and are as follows:

  • Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan
  • David Fincher, The Social Network
  • Tom Hooper, The King’s Speech
  • Christopher Nolan, Inception
  • David O. Russell, The Fighter

None of the nominees have won in the Feature Film category. This year welcomes first-time-ever DGA nominees Aronofsky and Russell. Nolan and Fincher have been previously nominated in the category, with Fincher taking a DGA win in 2004 for commercial work. The King’s Speech marks Hooper’s first nomination in the Feature Film category, though he has been previously nominated in the TV movie/miniseries category for 2009’s John Adams.

The winner of the DGA has traditionally been a good indicator of who will win the Best Director Oscar in February. Since its inception in 1948, the DGA winner has moved on to win the Academy Award except on six occasions.

The winner of this year’s DGA will be announced at the annual awards dinner on Jan. 29 at the Grand Ballroom in Hollywood & Highland.

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s